Certain motor vehicle
violations or at-fault accidents that are listed on your driving
record are called surchargeable events. Each surchargeable event
counts toward possible license suspension. Remember, the RMV
treats most out-of-state traffic convictions as if they occurred
in Massachusetts. The law requires the Registrar to suspend or
revoke your driver’s license automatically in several instances,
as outlined below:
If you receive responsible findings on three speeding violations within a 12-month period, your
driver’s license will be suspended automatically for 30 days.
If you collect
5 surchargeable events on
your driving record within a 3 year period, you are in
danger of having your license suspended. You will be sent a
letter from the RMV instructing you to complete a driver
If you collect
7 surchargeable events
within a 3 year period, your license will be suspended
automatically for 60 days.
If you collect a total of 3 major moving
violations or any combination of 12 major or minor moving
violations within a five-year period, you will be considered
Habitual Traffic Offender and your license will be
revoked for 4 years. You will
likely be able to get a hardship
license of your license is
revoked as a habitual traffic
The Registrar will also suspend your license
and right to operate if you have failed to comply with a child
support enforcement order, have an outstanding arrest or default
warrant, have failed to register as a sex offender or have been
convicted of a drug offense. Also, If your driving privileges
have been suspended or revoked in another state, your
Massachusetts driver’s license will be suspended until your
out-of-state suspension or revocation is resolved.
If your license is suspended
or revoked, you have the right to a hearing
with a Registry Hearings Officer. You have the right to legal
representation at this suspension hearing.
The RMV may also suspend your license for discretionary reasons criminal offenses, & JOL Violations, including JOL alcohol offenses.