Massachusetts license suspensions can be broken down into 3 categories: mandatory, discretionary, and suspensions related to criminal convictions.
If the RMV suspends or revokes your driver’s
license, you must stop driving immediately. You
have lost your driving privileges, and it is illegal
for you to operate any motor vehicle. Driving while your license is
suspended or revoked is considered a criminal
motor vehicle violation. You may face a considerable
fine and/or jail sentence, as well as additional
suspension sanctions, for doing so. If you are found operating after
suspension, you may be arrested.
Under Melanie's Law, there is a one year minimum mandatory sentence for any person convicted of operating with a suspended license for an operating under the influence (OUI, DUI, DWI).
If your license is suspended
or revoked, you have the right to a hearing
with a Hearings Officer. Also, to reinstate your driver’s license or your right to
operate a motor vehicle, you will have to
appear for a Registry Hearing. At your hearing, the RMV Hearings Officer will review
your case, including your driving record and all
applicable laws and regulations. You have the right to be represented by counsel at any RMV suspension / license reinstatement hearing. The experienced attorneys of Mass. RMV Appeals can help you. Contact us now for a FREE CONSULTATION.
Why risk arrest and jail for Operating After Suspension or Revocation, when you may be able to drive legally with a Hardship License?
Massachusetts law requires you to pay a fee to
reinstate a suspended or revoked license.
The most common fee is $100, but suspensions
caused by serious offenses may require
reinstatement fees as high as $1,200.
Depending on the suspension, you may also be
required to pass a knowledge exam and road
test as part of the reinstatement process. You will
be required to present four forms of identification
to prove your identity if you have to take a written
exam and road test.
The first step in determining the best way to get your license reinstated is to obtain and review your Massachusetts Driving Record.
MASS. LICENSE NON-RENEWALS
When the time comes to renew your driver’s
license, the RMV will refuse your renewal
request if you have any of the following: unpaid fines for parking violations, Citations for abandoned vehicles,
outstanding excise tax due, outstanding court warrants, unpaid Fast Lane violations.
If your Mass. Drivers License is non-renewable, before you can renew your license you must
present official release forms showing that all
fines and taxes have been paid to local communities
or that outstanding warrants have been satisfied.
For an outstanding court warrant, a recall
notice from the court is required. No other documents
will be accepted by the RMV.
Unpaid parking tickets and excise taxes must be
paid to local cities and towns.
The RMV can only collect Fast Lane violations
that are 60 or more days delinquent. This
means that at least 60 days have passed since
the date of violation issuance. You should address any issues which may render your license non-renewable before your RMV Hearing.